Tips on Using This Site

Patrick Tipton

I studied quite a few different forum offerings before settling on this one.  It looks a little different than what most of us are used to, but has a lot of great features and should prove to be a great platform over time.

1.  Tags:

When you go to post a new topic, you are required to add a tag.  You can add as many tags as you want.  Please try to help others by carefully selecting the topics covered in your post.

What these tags do is allow forum members to quickly find relevant posts and information.  You can immediately search the whole site by clicking on the tag in the header of a post.  This will search the whole site and give you a list of every place the tag has been used.  As the forum grows and more posts are added, this will become invaluable because, as an example, you could quickly see every post that discusses track restoration.

2.  Reputation:

This feature takes the "Like" concept from other social media platform and gives every user a rating based on the number of times their posts get a like.  You lose points if you post something that someone doesn't like.  This isn't a popularity contest, but it has the potential to help new members quickly sort through and identify helpful and knowledgeable folks and maybe offers a little incentive to keep mouths clamped firmly shut if there is nothing positive to add.  Time will tell.

Please be generous with your comments and your likes where deserved.

3. Photos

This site has fantastic photo abilities.  No need to resize pictures or host them on some other site that may hold you hostage in the future.  Post your high resolution pictures and videos and enjoy.  If you are taking really high quality pictures, you may want to keep them around 1 meg so we don't eat up too much bandwidth, but we can adjust settings if this becomes a problem.

You can post your pictures in your posts or create your own gallery at the gallery tab.  Kindly tag your pictures too.