M29 WW2 Olive Drab Color

M29

hi Everyone

Does anyone know the proper olive drab color the weasel was painted when out of factory. Is there a known paint formula or code  that my local auto paint supplier could use to mix it. Any information is appreciated. I have heard is was lusterless olive drab and see it available online, but don't like the idea of buying it online if my local supplier can mix it.

Dan

Dan

Dan, I am not an authority on what shade of OD paint a weasel rolled off the production line with but here are some happy snaps of the Gillespie version of OD. There may be a paint code on the can that your paint store can use?????

IMG_1003.JPG

IMG_1000.JPG

I have no knowledge of the Weasel paint specs but just got through doing this with my 1943 Willys MB.  I am going to paint my T24 white/camo and will have to do this work to figure out what is correct.

I spent a fair amount of time testing all of the various paints out there while doing my MB.  I ended up using a PPG product and having the color matched off of a NOS seat.  It came out great to my eyes.  Correct?  More in a second.

The Gillespie is a nice product although I don't think the color or level of "lusterless" is correct for a WW2 jeep/vehicle.  It is too light/tan and a little shiny for my eyes. The TM9 products (now sold by Midwest) are pretty good.  I know Paul Viens - who developed the product and then sold the company to Midwest - and he did a lot of work to try and match color and degree of luster while making a durable product.  For an off the shelf product, I would probably go with TM9.  Paulo Batisti also makes paint that is sold by Peter Debella here in the states.  It looks good but I have not really played with it.