Water Pump Help

Kevin Vogel

Hello

Does anyone have any idea how to get the water pump apart? I'm a novice (at mechanical work) and scratching my head on this one. I see the key pin way inside, but it's difficult to get to it with any tool. Will this pump break down any other way? I see a small pin on the side, but not sure if I should try to knock it in or risk damage. Help anyone.

I bought the seal repair kit, but it won't help if I can't get the pump apart.

Thanks

Kevin

IMG_1805.JPG

IMG_1807.JPG

IMG_1808.JPG

TM 9-1772 says use a 3 leg puller to remove the impeller.  You will find the carbon washer, seal and seal spring on the inside of the impeller - held in place with a lock ring.

I am personally leery of pulling impellers because they are fragile little beasts and they have often been on these shafts for decades.  I like to use a puller to remove the pulley (not sure what that pin is in your picture - not shown in parts manual).  My puller was made by @Rob W and threads into the fan mounting holes....then presses the shaft so the pulley pops off.  From there, remove the clip in the weep hole in the last picture and you can press out the shaft and impeller.  Then you can press off the impeller.  It takes longer to write than it does to do.

Regards, Patrick

This is how I got my pulley off. I have made a strong back adaptor that bolts to the pulley flange. At the centre of the flange/adaptor I have added a hole which allows a drift to be positioned against the water pump shaft which in turn allows the pulley to be pressed off using a hydraulic press. The picture below better shows what I am describing.

Water pump.JPG

• Like 2